Hayfever

I don’t know how come this is but I have been suffering from very bad hayfever for 3 weeks now. It keeps causing me to have conjunctivitis and giving me a fever, it is making me very sad because I can’t enjoy the nice weather. I have been to the doctors and they were no help I have spent over £30 on tablets, eye drops and nasal sprays in the hopes one will work and I have only found one of each that works to some degree not good enough though.

I live in the UK and this is the first time I have had hayfever this badly. I want to try and help anyone else that is in the same boat as me because I know how rubbish it is. Here is a list of the tablets I have taken and if they worked or not. In bold is the active ingredient the doctor told me to keep trying with different active ingredients.

  • ASDA Hayfever & Allergy Relief Tablets 30 Pack (Cetirizine Hydrochloride)

  • Benadryl Allergy Relief 12S (Acrivastine 8 mg)

  • Boots own Hayfever & Allergy relief 10mg tabets (Cetirizine Hydrochloride)
  • Piriton Allergy Tablets – 30 Tablets (chlorphenamine maleate 4mg)

None of these gave me great results. The ASDA ones did nothing, the Benadryl helped when the pollen count was low but not high, boots ones help and i am on those now. The Piriton made me very ill and i had to stay in bed for two days. I don’t know if it was an allergic reaction, interference with my anti-depressants (Sertraline) or they just didn’t sit well with me.

I am also using Prevalin Allergy Relief Spray link here. This does help for my nose from running and sneezing however it is horrible to use it makes me sneeze every time and doesn’t feel great. 

If you are a fellow sufferer I hope I have helped and that you find something that works for you soon, have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

